The following is a list of the smallest independent countries in Europe by area, some of which are known as the European microstates (or ministates). A microstate is usually a small independent state that is recognized by larger states. This list does not include, for instance, Northern Cyprus – which is an unrecognized country, or Kosovo which is only partially recognized. The list also doesn’t include Gibraltar which is a British Overseas Territory rather than an independent state.

1. Vatican City – 0.44 km2 (0.17 mi2) – The Vatican City State was formally established by the Lateran Treaty of 1929 between the Pope and the government of Mussolini. Located within Rome, the smallest state in Europe has a population of just over 800 people


Smallest Countries In Europe: Vatican City, In the heart of Rome

2. Monaco – 2.02 km2 (0.78 mi2) – The Principality of Monaco achieved full independence from France in 1860. It is situated in French Riviera, on the Mediterranean Sea and has a population of around 35,000. Apart then being the second smallest state in Europe (and the world), Monaco is also the most densely populated country in the world


Smallest Countries In Europe: Monaco

3. San Marino – 61 km2 (24 mi2) – The republic of San Marino is an enclave within Italy and has a population of around 30,000 people. San Marino proudly claims to be the oldest surviving sovereign state in the world with the continuation of the monastic community that gained independence from the Roman Empire in the September 301!


The Fortress of Guaita in San Marino. San Marino is European microstate

4. Liechtenstein – 160 km2 (62 mi2) – The Principality of Liechtenstein is located between Switzerland and Austria and has a population of over 35,000. It is an independent state since the 19th century


Vaduz Castle – the palace and official residence of the Prince of Liechtenstein

5. Malta – 316 km2 (122 mi2) – Malta is an archipelago of 7 islands in the Mediterranean Sea and has a population of under 500,000. Malta gained its independence from the UK in 1964. Valletta is the capital


Valletta – the capital of Malta

6. Andorra – 468 km2 (181 mi2) – Located in the Pyrenees between France and Spain, the Principality of Andorra has a population of under 100,000 and has been independent since 1278! The capital of Andorra is Andorra la Vella


Andorra la Vella – the capital of Andorra, an European microstate

7. Luxembourg – 2,586 km2 (998 mi2) – Located between Germany, France and Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has been independent since 1815, when it gained its independence from the French Empire in the Treaty of Paris. Luxembourg has a population of over 500,000. Luxembourg City is the capital and largest city of Luxembourg


Luxembourg City – the capital of Luxembourg, an European microstate

8. Cyprus – 9,251 km2 (3,572 mi2) – This island country is located in the Mediterranean and has a population of around 1,000,000. Independent since 1960. Nicosia is the capital and largest city


Smallest Countries In Europe: Cyprus

9. Montenegro – 13,812 km2 (5,333 mi2) – The small state of Montenegro has borders with not less than 4 countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Albania and Croatia. It has a population of around 600,000


Bay of Kotor, Montenegro – one of the smallest countries in Europe

10. Iceland – 103,000 km2 (40,000 mi2) – Iceland, “the land of fire and ice”, is another island country. It has a small population of just over 300,000. The capital of Iceland is Reykjavik


Reykjavik, Iceland. Iceland is the 10th smallest Country in Europe